Let her go…

A pricking pain shot up my blood,
When I saw you at the party last night,
Reminding me of the time gone by –
Of the pain I went through when you were out of sight.

It’s been four years since we’d last met,
It’s been four years since I last heard your voice,
Yet your presence unnerves my brain,
And leaves my heart pondering over my rightful choice.

I’m sure I don’t want to relive my past –
A past full of distrust and betrayal,
But when I saw a glimpse of you last night,
Why did my heart cry out in denial?

I know not why you left me alone
Standing in the piercing rain pricking my skin,
Yet my heart craves to speak to you one last time,
Just to make sure how well you’ve been.

I hope he treasures your cherubic smile,
I hope he knows you well by now,
But, no matter how much he understands you,
I know you crave to confine in my support somehow.

It’s been a long journey, an unmistakable one
Where I’ve learnt a few lesson or so
That no matter how much you love your best friend,
One day, you might have to just let her go…

<a rel=”license” href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/”&gt;Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

