”I want to become immortal.”

Not many days ago, a man had asked me, ” What is your dream?”. Out of respect for my own humble dreams, I failed to put up a pretense and lie to him. Hence, I ended up saying, ”I want to become immortal.”

The man looked at me wide-eyed for some time. He then shook his head in disbelief and roared with laughter. ”I appreciate your fantasy,” he said.”But grow up kiddo! Stop being childish!” He continued to laugh and walked away in search of a person to whom he could disclose the biggest joke he had ever heard.

Meanwhile, I stood at the same spot thinking about how foolish that man was. He simply had no idea what I was thinking about. So, he walked away laughing.

I, on the other hand, started walking the other way, homeward. While treading the rough road to my blissful abode, I contemplated on what I had said to the man a little while ago.

I am old enough to understand the truest truth of life – life will eventually meet with death. Death is definitely inevitable. However, this death becomes inevitable only when we think about the person’s flesh and bones.

There are people who live not only for themselves, but, for the others as well. These people leave a positive mark in the society. Maybe these very people remain unknown to the whole world. However, these people become imprinted in the hearts of a very few people in this vast world to whom they have lent out their helping hand without thinking twice. Thus, these people become immortal even after they die in flesh and bones.

Having justified my dream of attaining immortality, I smiled at the fact that I was still childlike enough to leave a positive mark in the society, and, thus, reached home.

image

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

28 thoughts on “”I want to become immortal.”

  1. I got ur point . you wanna do things in a ways that people will remember you even when u r gone .

    OK I got this dialogue for you .The gods envy us. They envy us because we’re mortal, because any moment may be our last. Everything is more beautiful because we’re doomed. You will never be lovelier than you are now. We will never be here again – troy

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Live life your way. People may forget how many awards u won . how much money u made . but they will definitely remember how u made them feel . how u inspired them is what I believe .
        Cheers .

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful blog, beautiful heart.

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I have found you, by you finding me.

    Being immortal is possible. If we love our God, do we not return to Him, becoming whole again thru Him? It is my belief that we do. You are here to encourage the downtrodden and weak, to lift them up with your words and your smile.

    ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

