Dance in the Rain

image

Slowly but surely darkness surrounds me,
To hide from me the sight I fear to see—
Of him being betrayed by the skillful lies;
His better-half leaves him standing with glistening eyes.

Heartbroken, he waits at the mercy of thunder,
What mistake had he made?—He begins to ponder
Till he realises the reason. He heaves a sigh
Because, she got bored with him; hence, she bid him goodbye.

Regrets he not for having loved her madly,
Even though she has scarred him badly,
And imprinted her name permanently on chest,
While robbing him of his eternal rest.

Engulfed by sorrow, my heart is shattered to feel
The grief of the helpless man. The thunder-peal
Wakes me up to face the stark reality
That the man I love would never experience ecstasy.

”You won’t have to bear this alone.”—
He turns round hearing my fading tone,
He fakes a smile ’cause he can’t bear to see
The drizzling rain hiding the agony in me.

As he looks into my burning eyes at the end of the day,
He wipes away my tears and softly says—
”For he who can’t bear the unbearable pain,
Has never enjoyed the dance in the rain.”

image

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

35 thoughts on “Dance in the Rain

  1. Yashika;
    Frankly speaking, I am not big fan of poem or rhymes, but, since, last two days, I am following your blog, so, when this post came in my Inbox, just for the curiosity, I click on the post, since it is poem, my first thought was not to read it, but then also, first, beautiful image, compel me to read few more lines, and few more lines compelled me to read it till the end; and now, I am reading at least for six times.
    First of all; I thank you not for writing such a wonderful, touchy and very very sentimental and emotional poem, but creating genuine interest to read poems in me.
    Frankly speaking, subscribing your blog is one of the good decision, I have taken in last week.
    Last but not least; If your poem is true based upon someone’s experience; I really felt sorry about the person;
    And if is purely based on your imagination, I salute the imagination power of poet.
    Wishing you all the best……………………..

    Like

    1. Swajith,
      Thank you for your kind words and your best wishes. Well, this poem is my story in reality with a tinge of imagination to make the reader visualize the climax.
      I’m overwhelmed at having grown the interest of reading poetry in you. I hope I can further develop your liking for poetry through my humble imagination touched by reality.
      Yashika

      Like

      1. Yashika;
        First of all; extremely sorry to listen that it is your own story; but; remember that in universe, whatever happens, it happens for good reason only; who knows; your tomorrow, may be more brighter, beautiful, better and brilliant than yesterday; and you find some one whom you care and share all your triumph and tragedies, success and setbacks, glory and grief; life is quiet unpredictable, so, always expect something unexpected; have a complete trust on “GREAT GOD”, at appropriate you will find some one……….
        Yes, if you write, such a wonderful poetry, in future, I may leave my writing style and turn to poetry(just joking)………..
        As always wishing you all the best…………………………

        Like

  2. this is a lovely reading… keeping poem in 4 lines and then space is a good presentation for reading the content.

    Glad you follow my blog – http://YourWellWisherProgram.wordpress.com
    Your Well Wisher Program is No NGO setup, No big costs, No team formed, No copyright protected, No solution patented, individual effort in an – Attempt to solve commonly known problems.

    Like

  3. Yashika πŸ™‚ Hi Dear, Loved your post’s mostly your lovely poetry’s… You are awesome, dear as your name πŸ™‚ keep writing and I’m looking forward to read more of your lovely work ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yashika, its an amazing poem! Seriously, from the beginning till the end I was hooked. I can’t imagine to write something like this. It’s so emotional, sentimental and sadly comforting. The last two lines though! They perfectly sum up this poem. I’m so glad I follow your blog else I’d have missed out this amazing piece. I love it! ❀

    Like

  5. Hey, yashika.
    Hope you are doing great.

    πŸ™‚

    Thank you for following my blog. I am glad you did, coz it’s through that alone, that i got a chance to visit this website of yours. Needless to say, your writing style is amazing, and you weave the poems so creatively.

    looking forward to exchange more thoughts and ideas through the portal.
    Happy blogging. πŸ™‚
    Good day!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

