And miles to go before I sleep

” The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.”

In the concluding verse of his famous poem ” Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening”, Robert Frost has brought alive the stark reality.

In my opinion, every person is gifted with life— a life which would enable him to experience earthly and unearthly beauties. However, ironically, this same life brings him face to face with the harsh reality as well.

Happiness and pleasure grow on the same tree which nurtures the growth of grief and isolation. Just like the angels and the devil co-exist in the religious world, the positive and the negative feelings too co-exist on the earth.

Hence, it is evident from this understanding that in order to experience the earthly delights, a person has to subjugate to misery.

With this thought in mind, I instill within my heart the the feeling of Hope yet again. I convince my brain once again that there is hope in my life too.

It is true that I’m going through a period of misery at a stretch. However, I believe that,  one day, this painful irony of living physically even while being mentally numbed and devastated would be extinguished. One day, the flickering flame hidden in my heart would take the form of an inferno. And, that day, the road before me would light up gloriously. That day, from dreaming in black and white, I would execute the courage in my heart to compel my brain to dream in colours. That day, I would re-establish my true self.

As far as I can comprehend, that explicit and glorious day is not too far away. I know it is difficult to conquer the rugged road alone. However, if my fate has decided against my true better-half, my heart has decided against hesitating to take up the challenges that are thrown to me.

I was born alone, and, I will die alone. So far, sharing my thoughts and feelings with a person I trust has only rewarded me with a betrayal. Hence, this solitude has left a deep hole in my heart. However, this vacancy has been filled with the determination to fight against all odds.

It does ache when you’re betrayed. However, with every betrayal, you develop the strength to conquer what was always yours. Thus, once your heart has been broken, it does not matter how many more pieces it is shattered into. After all, a broken heart can never be healed like before. Hence, it is left at the mercy of frauds and traitors to be shattered again.

However, the best part is that the betrayals, misunderstandings and misjudgments along with conspiracies that I’ve faced and experienced so far much against my own free will has strengthened me as a person. I now have the power to bear all injustices with broad shoulders, to save my tears for letting out my grief in the secrecy of my own self, and, to bear the unbearable heartache with a smile on my face. I now have the skill to fake such a genuine smile that would invoke a sense of myself being happy to an outsider who glances at my direction or observes the expression on my face.

Thus, even if I cannot fight against my fate to adjust the direction of the wind, I can always adjust my sails to finally reach my destination.

Thus, today, I can say it with pride that I am Strong because I know what it feels like to be Weak.

image

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

6 thoughts on “And miles to go before I sleep

  1. Yashika;
    “even if I cannot fight against my fate to adjust the direction of the wind, I can always adjust my sails to finally reach my destination”.
    Remember this words for ever.
    Wishing you all the best…………..

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yashika;
        That is the fighting spirit; now you are showing your true personality; a born-fighter; tough contender; and just like phoenix bird.
        Do you know anything about Phoenix bird???????????????
        Wishing you all the best…………………

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Swajith,
        I sure do know about the Phoenix. It’s the bird which rises from its ashes. Thus, there is life in death, and, there is death in life. What is the most important aspect of life is to have the courage as determination to raise oneself up after falling down in defeat. This is how a true warrior is crafted.
        Yashika

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

